Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-04-10 - 00:46:05

April 10, 2000

This fuzzy faced ol' dude spent four hours today at a premature birthday party here at our apartment, mine. And a wonderful four hours that was, I hated to see them all leave to go home, it had been so much fun.

Heather has this thing she does with angel food cake, she cuts the top off, digs a channel in the cake, fills it up with the most delicious mix of the perfect ingredients. She then puts the top back on and ices it. I heard them out in the kitchen, deep in conversation looking as if they were conspiring against the enemy.

We men were sitting on the patio (or whatever you call it) easy in our conversation, when the women came out carrying four cakes, full of candles - - - they made the ridiculous claim that it took four cakes to hold all the candles - - - - - I made some smart remark about the return of the Mummy and her son. The traditional Happy Birthday was sung, about as far off tune as usual but it came from such well loved faces that it was Music of the Spheres.

The only two of the great grand children to come were the two most well behaved little girls in the family.

My youngest son brought over his old computer and installed it in Heather's den. She had been complaining about the sorry excuse we bought as a cheapie word processor which had LCD print on the screen and nether my wife nor I could ever get it in a satisfactory position where the LCD readout was really useful. She writes a lot of letters and is active in some of her church activities. So she does need something to use. Son's computer has about all the word processing programs you can imagine.

I know Son's intent was that the computer would be a gift to both of us, but I told him privately it is considered a gift to me as well.

I will hover around the edges and see if she takes to it and try to help her print out her letters. She already has bought some of the pads of Kinko's Holiday paper of various kinds in preparation for the arrival of the super machine. A few months down the road she may get to the point where I will be welcome to hook the rig up to the phone line and get an ISP. But, we'll see what transpires.

I have a good friend in Austin who prints things out for me, and I would truly like to relieve her of that job. But I think in a month or so it will happen.

Younger Son showed up early and spent several hours on his installation and testing before the party. My two son's were here, the oldest one had his wife with him, the youngest is wifeless - - he had one once. My daughter who lives here in this area, her husband, her son and two of our great grandchildren were here and her husband's father who is a recent widower and a good friend of mine. Missing was my daughter who lives in a nearby home providing assisted living. Heather and I will go visit her tomorrow. Daughter's husband's father and I sat side by side on the patio and in between yakking at the young ones we did a bit of conversing on our own. There were presents, not necessary, but made every one feel good as well as me.

There is a feeling that is very evident and can be sensed at a distance, about a small gathering of people that great peace and mutual enjoyment is taking place. No one has to see smiles or hear laughter to know deeply that this group is having the time of their lives. And we DID, I was able to hug my kids and pat their shoulders and they did a bunch of hugging on their own - - - - but no cracked ribs.

The celebration was premature because of work schedules, and other things, this was my Sunday to be spoiled, and man they did it up brown. I lapped it up like a desert dog at an oasis. And this is one happy dude headed for bed. G'night

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008