Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jul. 04, 2002 - 23:37 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

After It Gets Dark

With a good portion of our forests already burnt up and the rest just awaiting a lightning strike to burn. Heather and I debated whether to go to the hills for a picnic today. Of course there were two sides as in most other situations. No blood was shed and no bruises to our physical bodies.

When Heather lived at home she and her family always went to a fishing lake in the hills or next best to a fishing lake on the flatlands east of here for the Fourth Of July, her Dad loved to fish so it was usually a lake in the mountains. Since neither of us punch a time clock any longer we can play calendar roulette and pick a day or two before or likewise a day or two after, that's one way we avoid the bulk of the traffic. Thus we have enjoyed a couple of days away from town each year.

A perfect marriage is not necessarily one wherein heated debates never happen. So, I'm the old fuddy-duddy and Heather is the adventurous heroine. I drank the standoff with my morning coffee hoping for the air to clear.

Before I finished eating, Heather received a couple of phone calls. She then restarted the conversation of last night about a schedule for today. She told me that our middle daughter had invited us to a cookout this afternoon and that our oldest son had also invited us to one. On the horns of a dilemma we spun, if we went to only one there would be hurt feelings. Heather and I talked things over and decided to go to both. To one a little earlier and going to the other after about an staying an hour at the first cookout. That way more or less killing lunch and dinner in one swell foop.

We got to daughters early while things were still being cooked, had a nice visit and a bite later. Then we went to oldest son's house for the other cookout, arriving late. We did the same there, visited for a short time and then ate. I think there was more food consumed by me than I should have eaten, but it is a Fourth Of July tradition to over eat, isn't it ? At both places the food was delicious and between the two places a wide assortment of food was available to dish up which I surely took advantage of and ate a bunch.

It was fun to visit and play with our great grandchildren at both places.

Last night Heather made a remark, "If we are not going to the mountains can we go to Four Mile House and watch the fireworks ?" Thinking then that would be the sole activity for the day, I answered, "Sure." I planned on playing catchup during the brightness of the day and go see the fireworks in the evening.

Driving home from the last belly stuffing Heather said something about us going to see the fireworks this evening. Therefore I was hoist by my own tongue and could do nothing but agree.

Came time to go see the fireworks, we got in the car and Heather turned opposite of the direction we would need to go to Four Mile House, it was then I was informed that rather than that we were going to the city of Aurora (suburb) to see their fireworks.

Thinking we would be early we were faced with space already filled up space everywhere, but we parked and walked, walked further yet and decided to sit on a low wall facing in the general direction of where the fireworks would originate. People had passed it by apparently because of two 15 foot or so trees between the wall and the pyrotechnics arena.

They were supposed to start at nine, nine thirty passed and at twenty to ten people began leaving, of course at about ten to ten the sky became technicolor. The fireworks display was outstanding, every year the effects are more perfect. Heather and I thought we we would sneak away a bit early and found we were in the midst of others doing the same. Fortunately we were parked near the main east-west artery and got out about fifteen minutes later.

All in all it was a good day and enjoyed by both of us. It was breezy while we waited for the fireworks to start and Heather and I snuggled under a blanket she had brought along and we managed to be comfy.

Every year going to watch the fireworks, everyone's plan is to get there early for the pick of the places with a good view. Our place was just about the best one I think, those two trees were way below the event horizon and we had the ringside seat of the night I believe.

But if one gets there early it is a long wait for sundown and the gloaming, but you know -- the fireworks don't start until After It Gets Dark . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008