Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-04-11 - 00:58:29

April 11, 2000

Today is my day, I am the double April Fool being ten days late for my own birth. I laugh when I think of my long gone Uncle who used to look at me and say, "you will never live long enough to have a twentyfirst birthday."

And then remembering walking my youngest daughter down the aisle, the pictures show both of us smiling, What was said on that wonderful occasion ? It was very short, the aisle wasn't that long, I said to her, "I have my last child raised and my job is done now." Grinning and looking sidelong at me she said, "Hunh uh, Daddy - - - - not until you hold my baby in your arms." I had to wait several years, but what a thrill it was when I did and saw that look in her eyes.

Going back into memory and comparing to the present. What is it that tells a child which people in a group to gravitate to? I had it, and I think it is some kind of human radar, but how is a old fogy like me to know ? The child doesn't know either, they just know that no matter how wrinkled and bent you are, you are someone to be with.

Yesterday at my party one of my little great grand daughters, the very shy one, crawled up into my lap, looked in my eyes for a while and finding what she needed, gave me a quick hug and ran out to play. The sweet mysteries of life - - - - how wonderful little children are, and how well they can be taught how to be at peace, behave and try hard while all along having fun if they are led from that age - - - - not pushed, but gently led. Would that I could be around to hold her baby to be on my lap in the far future. That is not to be, so I must pour all the love into those fragile, beautiful vessels that I have to give and pray that it will survive to be decanted on future relatives.- - - - - - -What more can be said?

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008