Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 02, 2002 - 14:17 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Again ?

The last one we had was July 26th. Shoot, that seems like yesterday, calendar says different. The usual Friday Five is up.

1. - What is your lineage ?

A. - Scotch, Irish, English and Jewish.

2. - Of these countries would you like to visit ?

A. - At one time or another all of them

3. - Which would you least like to visit ?

A. - Israel.

3A. - Why ? A. - A visit to a country continuously under seige and being infested with suicide bombers would not be considered by me as a visit.

4. - Do you do anything during the year to celebrate or recognize your heritage ?

A. - I hunt up my green plastic Shamrock pin that has Mazel Tov in gold letters on the face of it. I wear it on a shirt of lighter green if I can. Ireland and Israel -- why not ?

5. - Who were the first ancestors to move to your present country ?

A. - My only known ancestor from overseas was a red headed Irishman who became my Mothers father. I never met him. Coming from the west as I do there is history that back then some number of people changed their names when they got off the train from the east and due to the Victorian attitudes of that day, young, pregnant girls were often shipped to relatives out here to stay 'til recovery after they gave birth and went home. Genealogy doesn't have much of a chance to help many people born here. It doesn't concern me, I knew the family that loved me, taught me and raised me.

-----------------------------------------

Possibly more later when eventide nears. For now its that day Again ? . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008