Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 14, 2002 - 20:23 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

As It Was

We met our land again today, land that hadn't been developed, bare of houses and green lawns. Much as it was when things were getting settled here in our nation's early days.

In my imagination I become one of those early settlers, unfortunately too far from the river to grow crops which might not grow in the soil up here anyway. Knowing that it would be impractical bordering on the impossible to drill deep enough to get freshwater.

Subsisting on what wild animals I could kill, making trips to the river to get water to take back up there. Selling enough hides obtained from animals killed in the nearby hills across that same river, to buy a few staples, ammunition, and what fresh produce which could be afforded. The area we are in is moderately hilly, not ones as big as the foothills west of the river. Outcroppings of sandstone, pine trees not plentiful but are about the only trees growing hereabouts, scrub oak and precious else except wild grass which really never reaches any height to speak of. Trees not close enough to provide the duff of fallen needles so the bare earth sticks out somewhat held together by grass roots and scrub vegetation.

Wild territory back then but the housing developments are crowding it now. The area where we were today is 4,000 acres of land that will never be developed but remain as a cattle ranch. Supported by a foundation and the profits from the cattle they run.

I stand there looking off across the valley to the foothills and behind them peering over their shoulders, the front range of mountains, knowing that behind them are more mountains for many miles. Trying to think and visualize how it was then, the distances now covered in a few minutes by automobile took a day or maybe days to cover. Pondering the need to carry food and fire making tools and guns and ammunition as well. If I were intending to run a trap line in the mountains then it would be necessary to carry along traps and shelter making tools too.

Then pausing, enjoying the beauty in my sight but realizing that as a city boy I do not have enough knowledge to survive very long there as they did in the dim past. Having an inkling perhaps of how hard it was then to survive having none of the modern advantages to aid and protect us. Probably just a glimmer of the concept. Then the thought of spending a winter in those days boggles my mind.

A few miles traveled, a few hours of thought and in my mind I existed in a arid land As It Was . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008