Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 24, 2002 - 20:09 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Stop And Think

Fifty four years ago today our first daughter made her appearance on this earth.

Today Heather and I, after brain storming for quite some number of days decided that a trip to the mall as well as to the park to open her presents and watch the kids and squirrels do their things (She is a people watcher too), lunch out would be the ticket this year.

We had made arrangements at her assisted living residence to have her wheel chair brought up from basement storage and to pick her and her chair up at ten o'clock this morning.

Its a good thing we have the Saturn VUE as that clumsy old chair would not have come close to fitting into our former Saturn. I went in and signed her out, while I was getting her to the car Heather had taken in a nice birthday cake and ice cream for daughter and the residents to have after the evening meal. I got her in the car and loaded the wheel chair into the car. Daughter was greatly excited at the top of her lungs when we asked her if she wanted to go to the mall. It is a bit much when we take her out. She cannot talk but gets very vocal when she is enjoying herself and it is hard to keep her from scaring the little kids and horses.

We had previously discussed the subject on which mall to take her to, the ins and outs, level surfaces opposed to ramps etc. We ended up taking her to Aurora Mall. A nice busy mall, on two levels with an elevator and with plenty of room to walk.

Heather carried my cane and I trailered my oxygen bottle from the left handgrip of daughter's wheelchair. I think we checked out each and every store on both levels. Periodically I would get benched while Heather and daughter would disappear into the narrow twisty aisles of one store or another. She can walk a bit, not quite as well as I can but the shuffle, shuffle, stop, look, shuffle, shuffle, stop, look type of woman shopping they do is bearable and fun for her.

They have a carrousel there, a nice big one, well kept too. Her eyes shone when she first caught sight of it in motion. I circled the area looking for a ramp up rather than the obvious stairs, and sure enough there was a ramp, up we went and Heather paid her way and helped her get settled in the ride. It was just like when she was very little. A wave and a smile from her each revolution and a return wave and a smile from us. The ladies shopped Hallmark and came out with a small box of candy daughter had picked out herself. We had a bite to eat at Chick-fil-a and then we went in J. C. Penney's where I would find a place to sit while they did their bit going from place to place as their interests moved them on. They would come back to rest now and then. I had tried to get that wheel chair through those aisles off the main paths through the stores with no luck. Made me really realize just how difficult it is for folks tied into a wheel chair to shop.

Finally Heather and I got a word in with each other and decided that wear and tear on ancient skeletons and associated gear would necessitate leaving there while we still had the energy to load her wheelchair back up and go to the park.

I said to her, "Mom and I have some presents in the car for you, from us and from your brothers and sisters, shall we go to the park ?" Luckily I had said the magic words or words in a magic sequence as she lit up and was ready to go.

Saturday toward the end of August the parks are usually full to the gunwales with various and assorted multi aged folk. We drove by a few and the only table and benches we saw were in the sun -- hot cement furniture no less. We stopped by a Burger King drive through and bought cold drinks then. We drove to the park near where we live and found benches in the shade -- just a pair. Heather screeched to a halt, I popped out with my cane and bottle and made the benches before someone else came along and laid claim to them. That does happen. Often when we walk over there one or another bench we usually use to rest will have a couple resting there. Then we have to decide, turn around and go back or press on to the next one.

Heather and daughter came along shortly, Heather was carrying daughter's presents. Of course daughter was elated over her presents, most of which were wearables. We enjoyed sitting on the benches, people watching and having our drinks. Finally though it was time to leave.

We took her home and Heather went up to her room with her to hang up her new clothes while I unloaded that boat anchor of a wheel chair and pushed it in to the house. I stayed downstairs and visited with some of the residents. All of them have suffered brain damage of one kind or another but can help take care of themselves. They are a neat bunch of people and are fun to visit.

So we bid daughter good bye with hugs and squeezes and made our way home, knowing that she would have a pleasant evening there.

The fact that I can no longer do things I could do before is a very sobering thing. I discovered tonight sore muscles that I didn't even know I have. Heather and I are at peace with each other and were trying to give daughter a happy 54th birthday. The whole experience today made me Stop And Think . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008