Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 26, 2002 - 12:49 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Figures

Steve Newman of the Los Angeles Times has a weekly article called Earthweek: A Diary of the Planet that appears in our Rocky Mountain News each Monday. It shows what happened during the past week on earth. Symbols on a World map and side text according to symbol.

Quite apropos of what I put in my entry last night. "Global Crop Shortage -- Droughts and falling water tables in key grain producing areas of virtually every continent have caused a sharp drop in production." "Washington-based Earth Policy Institute said the global grain harvest for 2002 will fall short of this year's consumption by 83 million tons."

Shortage of water and shortage of crops should, I think, be a wake up call for all authorities to do what can be done to alleviate the growing problem.

In that same article, "New Zealand scientists announed that sea levels have risen 8 inches around the country during the past century, mainly due to global warming." "Researchers from the National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research based their conclusions on tide measurements in Wellington, Auckland and Lyttelton. Spokesman Jim Salinger said the massive tides that damaged costal roads and property this year are expected to grow even higher in the future."

I remember going to Florida in the 1970's and finding that Phillipe Park, on the way to Safety Harbor from Oldsmar was partly under water then. Yet we have big people pooh-poohing global warming.

Must leave shortly for an appointment and wanted to post this before I get that "data bank" unavailable like I got last night -- losing an entry. Maybe more tonight.

Today's entry backed by reports and a few Figures . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008