Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 27, 2002 - 23:50 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Old Man River

Cheney is Hawking again. Wants action on Iraq. Just can't for the life me figure that the public will go for it, or will they fall victim to acute paranoia ?

The rest of the news seems to be following along the same lines it has been for quite a long time.

Was meditating tonight (if that is what you want to call a brain idling down the road) and came to the conclusion that a person is like water. At birth and in youth a person is like a brawling, tumbling freshet, going down hill pell mell. Growing as it goes.

Later being fed by the tributaries of parental raising and education the stream grows, still flowing rapidly.

Education complete and going to work a person is still a great stream, flowing downhill a bit slower but becoming stronger.

And the river flows on as children come and go, and then grandchildren. Almost at sea level now.

Then coming on a flat plain with little slope to give the river impetus it begins to seek the miniscule drops in grade and wiggles and squirms around, sometimes forming ox-bows that get cut off during the spring floods. The river becomes such a relaxed, lazy, placid thing flowing slowly toward the sea. It is hardly noticed that the river has joined the sea and is no more.

Need to think about it a bit more I guess, but my idea is there I think.

I surely don't flow as rapidly as I did in my young manhood, gained a little experience and wisdom along the way trying to pass a bit of it along and gracefully accept the title of Old Man River . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008