Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Sept. 05, 2002 - 12:25

THE WONDERING JEW

No Boodle

The Grands have gone the tiny pet route; Gerbils, Guinea pigs, Hamsters and pet rats. One way or another they didn't get a whole lot of mileage out of them. Not from mistreatment, because their Mom And Dad kept close watch of the situation.

Their Dad is allergic to animal dander, cat dander especially.

The subject of a pet dog has been the subject of much discussion over a long period of time. Their behavior on the Semester At Sea was super good and I think maybe that is why their Dad put it to the two of them. "Research and find out the dog that has the least dander and we will maybe get one." After much reasearch by the kids it seems as if Poodles have the least.

So now the Grands are busy trying to find a Poodle that has papers that their Dad will find acceptable in the price range. Some pedigreed Poodles are outrageously expensive. But the Grands are working on it and a possibly good outcome will happen. One thing for sure, their effort has been good training for living for them.

I am looking forward to see how the Grands handle the care and feeding of a puppy. They took pretty good care of of their tiny pets. I wonder if it will be a just weaned puppy ? Probably will be, I hope so because because raising a puppy into a dog is an adventure everyone should have to my way of thinking.

Puppies are much like human babies to a great extent. It is essentially helpless, stumbling, bumbling its way into ecstatic, yipping puppyhood.

As with human babies the most needful thing after the requirement of food and drink is met is great need for love and attention. I think that most living animals that are somewhat sentient need that love and attention o be complete and happy. Love given to an animal of the four legged variety I think is returned many times over to the person who cares for them.

From caring for a pet I think a child learns many things such as handling pain without making a drama scene of it and how to handle privation - assumed or real. It does seem to me that a child gets more of an education from having a pet dog that the dog gets from them. Of course I am prejudiced as most anyone who has had a pet dog or two will be. At least a human who is capable of love for another creature, whether two legged or four legged - has the good fortune to have as a staunch friend one who accepts blindly the owner's doings and the return to the owner is much greater.

I learned many things from my dog, for one thing to have an enthusiastic outlook on life in general, to quietly accept what must be and go on from there.

I hope our Grands do get a puppy and that they give it the love and attention it needs. I am sure they will, but I want to see them in action.

Although a Poodle is great it is really No Boodle . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008