Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jul. 29, 2002 - 18:21 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Afraid ?

Who's afraid of the big bad wolf ? By golly I am if I'm out in the wilderness and have no means what-so-ever to defend myself and he is jumping for my throat.

I suspect some of the petroglyphs show men in mortal combat with beasts. Back then humanity was threatened by forces of nature, both normal and unnatural, things like freezing temperatures, floods and volcanoes. The world of wild life was also a constant threat. Of wild life, man had some defenses, fire at his home site, stones, clubs and rough spears out in the open.

As the population grew disease crept in and that man could not fight. Harm from humankind was always there, but in the beginning he could use the same defenses against his kind as he did against animals.

Eventually as population grew and laws became established a private citizen violated the law by successfully defending himself and family. Real iffy on whether he could defend himself in court and be acquitted of a crime himself.

I think that today it is even more dangerous to physically defend oneself from man. Even if you do, you stand the chance of losing it all in court if the attacker is crippled and sues or his relatives suing if he dies. Nowadays it is fairly easy for someone threatening a convenience store clerk with a gun to get the cash and run. So there you are, you have been in danger of losing your life by someone holding a gun pointed your way, Lord help you if you have a gun, grab it and jump out the door and shoot him as he flees and also you are in legal danger if you shoot him on the premises as you are being held up. Your bum is grass and the legal system is the lawnmower.

The thought of our country becoming a society of gun toting citizens doesn't seem to be civilized either. To me anyway.

I guess we must be canny, remember what we were taught as children in the way of survival methods. If empty when you are not there, the house should be locked. When you come home, unlock the door, step inside and relock it. I think it would be wise to avoid having shrubbery near that door too. I think it would be wise to be extremely careful at night. In parking lots, on the sidewalk and in malls.

If the phone rings, you answer it and someone asks, "Who is this ?" the best reply I can think of is, "Please tell me who you are ?" and go from there. Probably it is terribly unwise to let someone know if you are home alone.

I think some of us needlessly expose ourselves to danger by carelessly handling our money and allowing someone to get on to the idea that we are carrying some significant bread. Expensive jewelry, Rolex watches etc. expose one to danger of assault and robbery also. It is, I think, in moments of carelessness and inattention that we succumb.

So, when I have done the right things there is no need for me to worry. If a volcano blows beneath my feet, I am toast or worse. If my home is attacked unfairly by a Swat Team, being toast might be the least painful way to go.

My Grandma was a believer, but not a Bible Thumper. She once told me, "Take care of yourself the best you can and pray that no harm comes to you or yours."

When I have done the best I can to make us safe, will it help if I am Afraid ? . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008