Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-04-21 - 00:06:23

April 20, 2000

Sorry, grandson that my own little tale of survival and outlook of the depression years will have to wait, you are already sound asleep and dreaming much better dreams than anything I can tell you.

Heather and I spent a wild and great day. We did such diverse things as taking my brother in law to Heather's and his family's grave. Admiring the trees in bloom and joyously retracing paths of old. A visit to his and Heather's sister with Alzheimer's, she came wonderfully alive, compared to her normal awareness. She knew her little brother, smiled and embraced him. She acted pretty lively, I think his visit and the sight of him helped her reallize life for a few moments before the curtain dropped again.

Lunch together, quietly with good conversation and good food. We spent a little while at home, then across town to watch the third coach a high schoool swim meet, watching that youthful striving release of pure competetion. What a joy to see, all that youth in action.

Thence to supper with him and his wife, a good Italian meal at a nice, warm, neighborhood restaurant and once more doing the catch up bit mixed with memories of pleasant times, telling tales of "ago.".

Just got home and it is pushing midnight, Bastion is well fed and tuckered out. The arms of that old poop Morpheus are reaching for me so I better get to bed. More talk in my head but I must go where led. G'night

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008