Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Feb. 21, 2003 - 18:05 MST

THE WONDERINGJEW

Old Treasures

Once again the embers are stirred making things glow again.

Friday Five is often an exercise that lets me look back a bit.

1. - What is your most prized possession ?

A.It is not something that can be hand held nor set in the curio cabinet nor is it in my safety deposit box. My most prized possession is my memory and the things contained therein.

2. - What item that you currently own have you had the longest ?

A. - A gold stickpin from Alaska given me when I was very young -- or maybe the picture of me on a tricycle with my cousin hanging on behind when I was younger yet. That was in my first photograph albumn.

3. - Are you a packrat ?

A. - That I am ! The boundaries of apartment life have hampered me greatly.

4. - Do you prefer a spic-and-span clean house ? Or is some clutter necessary to avoid the appearance of a museum ?

A. - I played gopher to an interior decorator when I was a teen ager, doing the grunt work that entailed sweating and such. I loved to watch him at work. One of the things he did that I thought added to the attractiveness of a room, no matter how formal it was consisted of moving something out of place just a bit, or leaving a magazine from a pile open to the beginning of an article. Once he asked a lady if her husband had a pipe. Being answered in the affirmative, he asked her to bring it to him. He placed it beside an ash tray, after dumping the dottle in the tray. He did things to a room that made it obviously lived in and comfortable, thus to my mind made it quite attractive. NOW, don't you dare touch my desk ! ! ! !

Do the rooms in your house have a theme ? Or is it a mixture of knick-knacks here and there ?

Yes. Theme of the living room is to live in it and utility rules on through the rest of our apartment. Our walls are decorated with family pictures, our furniture is good and comfortable. We have a nice dining room set including a beautiful china closet and a buffet once owned by my Dad. Surprisingly our bedrooms have beds as the main attraction and the bathroom has a tub and shower and the proverbial porcelain throne. We like our knicks and hoard our knacks. Sit on the places to sit and lay on the appropriate pieces of furniture. We say the theme of our apartment is , "Living Easy !"

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Material things they can take away from me, memories are with me until Alzheimer's do us part. Many of the objects we own have deep meaning and memories along with them, adding to their luster. So I would say that our most valued possessions are memory's Old Treasures . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008