Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 25, 2003 - 18:32 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

I Am Here

I was old enough to understand realities at the time of World War Two and observed that "Peace At Any Price," didn't work. It was too dear a price for all of the world.

I also saw some very idealistic demonstrations and protests which sometimes resulted in injury and death and also saw the comtemptible way our service folk were treated when they returned, all during the Viet Nam era. Personally I don't think the opinions of the public pulled us out of 'Nam, but the final realization that we as a nation were pounding sand down a rathole. I sincerely pray that polls of the public never define what an administration does. To me public opinion is evanescent and often formed in an ignorant way.

It is Today, Now. We are at war.

I think the time to protest our going to war has passed. We are at war. Now to campaign for us to pull out of Iraq could have some very disastrous consequences to us and also to the world. That is my opinion.

I am a pacifist, but within certain limits. Even conscientious objectors served in the military. They did so at great risk to their lives. I am of that philosophy.

I must remember at all costs that our troops are deeply in danger, some already injured or killed.

SO, I shall do what is within my very limited power to give our folks who are serving in our forces overseas as much support and encouragement as I can.

After it is all over I pray that our returning service people are welcomed home, treated with respect and honored as they will deserve.

Once again shall I heed what Churchill said, "Courage is what it takes to stand up and speak; courage is also what it takes to sit down and listen." Now it seems that it is my time to listen. I Am Here . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008