Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 24, 2003 - 22:21 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

This Ain't Friday

But I am so far behind that it might as well be Friday, Friday two weeks ago. It has been a spate of time since I came forth with a Friday Five and so once again, herewith.

1. - What brand of toothpaste do you use ?

A. - Efferdent

2. - What brand of toilet paper do you prefer ?

A. - Kirkland - beats pine cones all hollow.

3. - What brand of shoes do you wear ?

A. - What ever is comfortable that Payless or Walmart has.

4. - What soda do you drink ?

A. You mean Pop ? If I drink any it is Pepsi Cola.

5. - What brand of gum do you chew ?

A. Wrigley's Freedent, which is about the only thing that doesn't stick to my dentures.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

We are a devoted Costco couple here. There are a few things we buy at our local supermarket, but as few as possible. Some things we can't use fast enough to be able to buy the large, economy, gigantic, big as a house size of some stuff at Costco. If we still had a bunch of kids at home we would be able to buy the largest quantity they have and still run out before more money came in. There for a time back then, my routine was, go to work, stop at the grocery store and shop from the list given me, gulp a quick bite, empty the trash and garbage, go back to the store for more, rinse and repeat.

As well, it became evident to me long ago that if I buy super brand names I pay bucks for the name and additional bucks for the merchandise.

Today was a good day. Warm, cloudy, light breeze. Heather and I went to a birthday party for our son-in-law and one of our great grand daughters. It was on the back deck, plenty of chairs and tables. Dessert galore and wonderful conversations. My son-in-law's Dad and I managed to get off in a corner and hold those great philosophical B.S. sessions that we do on these occasions. That and watch the great grand children tykes facing life and a crowd.

Heather and I came home and inhabited our first floor balcony I guess you would call it. Spent a bit of time admiring our plants which we installed Friday. A whiskey - half barrel with two Hibiscus bushes one of which is called Butterfly with big, gorgeous yellow blooms that have just a hint of orange. Our other half barrel is planted in Day Lilies which we wanted to try last year. We think there will be enough sun for them to do well. As well we have a beautiful Verbena hanging basket that Jeannie gave us. That beloved woman bought it at the Botanic Gardens, hand carried it in the heat to her daughter's apartment - maybe a mile or more - and brought it to us in the evening when they came to visit. We have another hanging basket of Lobelia which is a mass of small blooms. With that and the Aspen tree that is an apartment planting between us and the sidewalk, we truly enjoyed ourselves. Also I have some switches of Hibiscus bushes that Jeannie brought from Florida to see if I could root them. If so then maybe I'll buy a grow lamp and try to winter them inside.

So, for two days worth of blather I will readily admit, This Ain't Friday . . . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008