Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 10, 2003 - 18:05 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Dreams Of The Young

At times in my young dreams I was an eagle, high in the sky soaring on the wind. Free in all senses of the word.

But most of my dreams I think were governed by my respiratory tract. Hay fever all summer and a cold all winter. Shortness of breath always governed my activities in the real world. However, my spirit expected more of me than that.

So in my dreams early on before hormones and girls put another layer in my nightly dream experiences I could run like the wind. Seems like I would start out running like the other kids did in real life but as I ran my strides would lengthen logarithmically and bounding higher each stride would give me more distance before having to pat my feet on the ground again.

I roamed in my dreams the world around, running without fatigue, shortness of breath or without any of the other things that plagued me in daily living. But the faster I ran and the higher I would bound, still the beauty of the world impressed itself on me, evermore.

My imaginary mate "Big Bill" was with me (Little Bill) matching stride for stride and not hampered by earthly restraints we would hold deep conversations without loss of breath. Occasionally a stranger with the same abilities would cross our path and maybe stop for a bit so we could tell each other about our homeland, always pleasant. Never met a grouchy stranger in those dreams.

But when winter illness struck and the flu came along or anything that caused a fever, things would become quite unreal for me. Outer limits before "Outer Limits" became a program. My mind would be in free fall, perhaps I would dream that the cake on the table would keep growing, vast beyond belief, which would frighten me horribly. I think it was about this time I began to try to cope with the concept of space. I could not conceive space without end nor could I think of it closed either. There was always something outside the closed box of my world and things beyond that, but without end, impossible for me to imagine ? I think when delirium took over my personality that space problem became the bogey man of my dreams.

Back again to the physical limitations of my earthly life I have begun again my seven league strides and airy lightness. So I haven't given up exercising, just put it on a plane that allows me to go for the gold as long as I can sleep. Senile dementia ? Don't think so, just doing a recap on my Dreams Of The Young . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008