Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-06-06 - 20:00 MDT

June 6, 2000

Damned if you do . . . . .

Right now my memory is stretching back to 1950 when Heather was taking LPN training. I think I followed her training and maybe learned as much as she did, intellectually. Hands on she was far ahead me as the mother of children she was at the peak of caring for people.

The first time I swam through Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, I had every malformation, ailment, contusion, abrasion, broken bone, concussion, contagious disease and glandular ailment there was in that book. Heck, even my nonexistant ovarys hurt.

Then a bit of horse sense overtook my panic and said, "Whoa dummy, learn, don't succumb." Along the way after getting a PDR, a Merck Manual and other reference material I began to see and understand all the variables that Doctors have to cope with. The variations are infinite of each ailment. The dangers and side effects of different medications are usually different for everybody. And the clash of prescription drugs can be terrible. Over the counter drugs for one thing often don't help the condition they are purchased for, for another taking some of these OC medications cause undue complications because they are not compatible with the prescription medication.

So what can I say that might be positive ? Pick out a good doctor - one you trust. On a visit communicate out your ears with the doctor, they are not psychic. Cooperate and follow instructions religiously. Take your prescription medication in the amounts and at the times prescribed. Do communicate with the Doctor or the clinic if something other than good is happening - whether it has been mentioned as a side effect of that particular medication or not.

When I have a new medication prescribed (New to me) I make sure that someone is present in case I get hit by Anaphylactic Shock which needs treatment immediately as it can be fatal in a very short time. If I have the word of mouth right it is a hyper-allergic reaction to a substance. And if I am right, any of us can become allergic to anything at anytime. For example bee stings, some people die from the first sting, some can endure many stings and then have that horrible reaction out of the blue sky.

I guess I know enough to be cautious, communicative, attentive, careful and watchfull.

"So, Bastion, what profit from this tonight?" "Well, maybe I am just reinforcing my own little bit of knowledge and awareness, for myself."

One thing that I am beginning to do is to watch the flip flop of medical opinion and try to be sensible about it. Last I heard was that butter was no more harmful than oleo - - - - that was last month.

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008