Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Feb. 13, 2004 - 18:05 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

In The Mirror

Brian Crane who draws Pickles in the comics has given me a wonderful excuse for my senile lack of memory. Pickles is talking to his friend and says, "I used to have a very good memory." Next panel, "You could say it was photographic." Next panel, "I could remember names, dates, even phone numbers, like nobody's business." Last panel he says, "Then I ran out of film."

I once read that the most valuable trait that man has is his "forgettery." The claim is that the brain and mind have only so much room for memory and that if we could remember everything from birth we would go crazy by the time we reached adulthood. Got a point there. Glad I have a selective memory and selective hearing and also selective sight."Oh, gee Heather, I didn't remember to do that." "Well I told you Doug." Golly Heather I didn't hear you say that." "Well couldn't you see that in front of your face ?" "Guess not Heather, I must have been looking the other way at the time."

Another week has whizzed by and is time for the Friday Five once more.

1. Are you superstitious ?

A. - When I am convinced there is a need for me to be so. See answer to question 3.

2. - What extremes have you heard of someone going to in the name of superstition ?

A. - Gee whiz, how can I pick just one ? One I remember was a friend who wouldn't start on a trip on a Friday -- even across town.

3. - Believe it or not. What's your superstition ?

A. - Is it a superstition or firm belief, that there are present day miracles, myself I have a firm belief ? Can't be just serendipity that everything meshed together when we had our accident in Wyoming. Happened across the road from the hospital in Rock Springs, my door could not be opened by non-professionals so had my neck supported by a paramedic and my body put on a back board, checked out at the hospital and then flown to Denver, I was one of three men put in that hospital that day with a broken neck, one died, one is paraplegic and I am ambulant, the wonderful care and attention that was paid to me clear through completion of physical therapy. I could say more, but maybe what I have said is enough.

4. - Do you believe in luck ?

A. Chance yes . . . . luck, not really. 4a. - Do you have a lucky number/article of clothing/ritual 4aA - I have clothes and possesions carried on myself that I have become bonded with, miss it when it is gone or wears out.

5. - Do you believe in Astrology ?

A. - I just can't believe that the aspect or position of the stars has anything to do with me.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Another Friday Five and a chance again of finding things about myself by looking, via the net, In The Mirror . . . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008