Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Apr. 02, 2004 - 21:35 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Comparison

I'm totally bone weary tonight, partly from a bit more physical work and running errands to boot. Along with that is the mental thingy. Our younger son's condition is constantly on our minds, wondering what is next and how much good treatment will do. Praying he will cured of cancer, hoping for a miracle. I try to keep a stiff upper lip and wonder what a stiff upper lip stands to gain me ?

Riding in the car today I drifted into thought, meditation perhaps.

I think perhaps a new born baby is a book, with a bright shiny cover and blank pages.

The first pages of it are written by Mother along with snapshots included in her precious book.

When coherent thought begins, then the child starts writing said book. A bit unsteady, blotchy at times, somewhat scrawly, but the wonders that the child encounters are writ in glowing colors. In later years to be remembered as such in all their glory.

Along the way the cover changes, the book gets larger and if a boy child it gets a bit grubby, while a girl child's gets fancier as the years pass.

At first are those scribbles that the child tells Mom it is "real" writing. Schooling begins and first are printed letters, wiggly and shaky but readable. Then in sequence is cursive writing. Awkward and straggly at first and in some cases tightens up and is neat.

For most of us I guess, the book is written in one's memories.

In old age it becomes a reference work, those dear memories called back to mind to recount to younger folk. Other times reflection of personal history keeps a person from making the same mistake twice.

I pondered once about how a person's memory usually holds only good things of life. Makes me think that with equal value is a person's "Forgettery" where inconsequential unpleasant things disappear. Seems to me that if I could remember everything I would go crazy, just from the clutter alone.

Main thing to think I believe is that it is written by living it, a work in progress.

A bit of thought on the fly, made me feel a little better this evening and it gives me a ruler to draw a Comparison . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008