Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Apr. 16, 2004 - 21:17 PST

THE WONDERING JEW

Again ?

And it rained, then it rained some more. Not unusual in Oregon west of the Cascades this time of year but I have the urge to drink all of it to take back to Denver. Silly old man I know, but we seem to be in a drought yet this year, especially Denver's water supply as the watershed that supplies us didn't get near enough snow this winter.

Our Denver folks visit us frequently and take their kids home with them. It is different here in Eugene. Two weeks of going back in time, somewhat, back to the time when we didn't have that many kids. Long ago, that is.

There is something in being with a family for two weeks that brings things back again. Youth , high spirits, curiosity and the glow of good health. Then too the presence of Cyrano the powerful toy Poodle, who has a pin in his leg and has been long suffering. Such a cheerful dog and seems to be trying to overcome his injury -- to the extent that he has to be watched and kept from jumping up and down on the couch, the stairway, etc . He will go to the vet Tuesday and I hope the pin will come out of his leg then. Already I think the other leg has grown longer than the injured one, something he he will have to cope with the rest of his life. But he has the spirit to make the best of I am sure.

The grand children have grown in the short time since we saw them at Christmas. Grandson is quite a civilized Jock now and shows polite manners at table. Took him a bit of time but I think he has mastered it. Grand daughter is in the process of becoming a sportswoman, the only wildness she shows is an insatiable appetite. Otherwise she is growing into the woman she will soon be.

There is something so comforting and reassuring about late nights when I am in the study reading and feel family surrounded, each in their own beds and sleeping. Of course envy, of mine, that I can no longer keep up with them but it doesn't rankle, it's just there. The evening meal when the whole family is around the table, at times all talking at once, but once in a while just one at a time. The various items of interest coming up both adult and youth make an interesting interplay.

This is the first chance I have had at the computer today and have to sign off as the lady boss has to use the telephone and this poor deprived family only has one phone line into the house.

Anyhow, it feels as if I have dropped back a few years in time, wondering at their didos and glad to witness them. Ya can't go home again, but is it possible to step back in time Again ? . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008