Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Apr. 23, 2004 - 20:12 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Keepin' On

I read the newspaper today, but after our son called us from after he arrived to his apartment from work today, it is hard for me to ponder the meaning of all that is going on. One thing though did impinge itself on my conscious mind. Workers can't be required to cede rights, court says

By Karen Abbot of the Rocky Mountain News of 23 April. "A worker who refuses to sign away legal rights in order to keep a job isn't guilty of insubordination, the Colorado Court of Appeals ruled Thursday."

"The ruling came in the case of Renita D. Bell, of Denver, who sought unemployment benefits after leaving her job with the Regional Transportation District.

"A hearing officer and an appeals panel decided that Bell couldn't have unemployment benfits because she left her job after refusing to sign a promise to better perform certain job duties."

"RTD had suspended Bell for five days because of job performance issues and asked her to sign the performance promise in order to return to work."

"Bell wouldn't sign it and didn't return to work, and state unemployment benefits officials concluded that was insubordination."

"But the Court of Appeals said the promise also required Bell to waive her legal rights to appeal RTD's decisions about her or to sue the transportation agency over job issues. Employees can't be required to sign away their legal rights in order to keep their jobs, the appeals court said.

+++++++++++++++

Right on, appeals court. Typical move by employer vs. employee. Makes you damned if you do and damned if you don't. Often job performance depends on the doings and output of others in that line of duty. Seems to me that supervisors sometimes expect the miraculous from an employee and dump said person if miracles don't happen. I have seen things like that happen, but not requiring someone to sign a document like that. Case in point, I was supposed to submit a figure for the output of a certain product from my station at work. There were so many variables concerned that it was impossible to guarantee much of anything. I was in hot water over that. The last job I worked was testing a certain unit and the company desired to set a rate for the testing of same. Another case of too darn many variables. In the case of M. Bell, I wonder if she suffered job harassment prior to company's demand for her to sign a damnable thing like that ?

I think the motives of a company requesting an employee to sign such a thing should be questioned. There are so many other ways to handle something like that, it appears to me that the company had a fail safe plan (they apparently thought) to arbitrarily get rid of an employee. Sign this -- or you can't come back to work -- heh.

+++++++++++++++

Our son's cancer has spread to several spots in his body, apparently is metastasizing rapidly. Doctors at this point in time say he has three months to five years left. Depending on his response to treatment. One relief for Heather and I is that he is continuing his chemotherapy.

So many are praying for his return to health that perhaps a miracle will give him more than five years of health to enjoy with his children and grand children. The other shoe hovers above us all, but has not descended quite yet. In the meantime Heather and I will keep on Keepin' On . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008