Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Apr. 24, 2004 - 20:53 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Not Tiddley-Winks

A double wink is sometimes a passport to the world of childhood. (double-wink right and left eyelids rapidly opened and closed, each eye lid open when the other is closed). It worked again today at the Costco Saturday Zoo. I was sitting at a table in the snack area waiting for Heather to finish her shopping drinking bottled water and jotting notes. A little wisp of a girl gradually made her way between tables and stood across the table from me, gazing at me with big, wide, brown eyes.

I went into my act, double winking and finally saying with a smile, "Bet you can't do that." She responded with a shake of her head, "No." My reply was, "Someday maybe you will learn how." Then I asked her, "How many years do you have ?" Very softly and shyly she answered, "Three." My turn, "Wow, such a big, grown up lady you are for only being three." "Are you having a good time today." A bashful nod, "Yes." I was prepared to spend the afternoon talking to her. I had winked at the adult sitting at a nearby table who she had in tow. We had just got a good start when a lady wheeling a buggy full of groceries came up to the man, the little girls face lit up in a smile, the three of them left with a shy good-bye wave from the little girl. It really made my day, it did.

Looks to me that all children are different in one respect or another. Some bubbling over with energy, needing to go fast, doing anything and having fun. Then there those chilren of a contemplative bent, dignified, polite, wanting to be friends with someone who will talk on their level an give them respect. Such was she I guess. Perhaps I looked like a departed grandparent or uncle, or maybe she just wanted to see what made this fuzzy old dude do his thing. I don't really know, but I will remember her forever among some of the other small citizens of this world that I have had the great pleasure of communicating with, all through the years.

+++++++++++++++

Saw an article in yesterday's paper, headlined:

"Photos of flag-draped caskets breach Pentagon ban."

I didn't read he whole article, but fear that the Pentagon and this administration are trying to do the same old things that have been tried before which never did work too well.

I think more respect to the dead soldiers can be shown by a display of photos of their "flag draped" caskets, coming home in honor. It never has been a secret that wars create dead people on both sides. Can't hide them away no matter how you try to smokescreen things.

++++++++++++++

In my little world, double winks are Not Tiddley-Winks . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008