Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Apr. 30, 2004 - 22:12 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

It Takes Time

Sixty-one years ago, along about this time of month in April I met a young high school man, who became my friend and later my brother by marriage.

Heather's brother came into town early today. Takes a long time for each of us to catch up on things.

His wife died a few years ago his kids raised and out of his home and in homes of their own, he has sold his house in Michigan and is building a small house near where his one daughter lives. He goes from place to place, visiting his children and golfing.

He brought a raft of photos with him. Some of which were taken on Heather's trip with him to the Keys and others of his hike to the top of Superstition Mountain, various photos of desert scenery he has traveled through in recent years.

He seems to be in good health and spirits and planning again to visit folks here in town. While here there is golf in the wind with some of his high school friends, they survive remarkably well.

He arrived earlier today than Heather and I expected him, but we had managed to get the place in shape for his visit.

We made dinner and ate from a full table and rose, replete from a nice meal and sat down in the easy chairs to have a super good talk, one which went from their earliest memories up to the present day. He also brought high school yearbook pictures, he and Heather both went to the same school. While they were going over them, I snuck over and got the dishes sorted, rinsed and in the dishwasher as they were talking about folks and events I had no knowledge about.

Snowed here a good part of the day, lightly though and is supposed to warm up from tomorrow on (hopefully).

Something must have happened in the world yesterday I am sure, haven't had a chance to look at the paper, will try to catch up with the latest re-run of country and world news tomorrow. But today and this evening was spent with a man I proudly call Brother. To have a friend like him, well you know, It Takes Time . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008