Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 01, 2004 - 22:24 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Somehow

There are many who have been praying for Rob ever since I first wrote about his problem. They were the first to send condolences. Then there are those who just read about his death and sent e-mails of condolence.

It is truly startling the number of signatured postings to my Guest Book and more amazing the number of e-mails that have been sent here.

All these things, including silent friends who show up, shake my hand or give Heather a hug, then sit down and be with us for awhile. A silent friend's presence is a comforting thing too. No words to say, just to be there with us.

Rob's memorial service will be at a small church in the mountain town of Evergreen and his burial will be in Fort Logan Cemetery where many a veteran awaits the awakening hand of their higher power.

Thing is, I am sure in my own mind that many of those same people will continue to pray for us -- until the time comes to pray for others. And there are others and there will be more yet whose problems often are greater than those we have as a family, experienced.

And we pray for cyber friends we have not seen and probably never will. But those friends are going through troubles where prayer is needed for them to the nth degree.

We are grateful and thank everyone who has wrote and sent encouragement through this time. Eventually I will be able to send thank you e-mails to those who have been so kind, but for a few days I will be lucky if I can read my journals.

Rob was a fine man, a good father and devoted grandfather as well as constantly letting family know he loved them.

Ease and a modicum of comfort will eventually lift the pall over us, at least I hope so.

If anyone wishes to, they can make a contribution to the American Cancer Society, in memory of Doug Bastion's son, Robert James. There is no pressure, or request, just whatever one feels moved to do. The church is small and does not lend itself to a bunch of flowers.

We are still here -- minus one -- missing Rob, remembering to have an empty chair at table and a place on the sofa for him -- a toast to him on his birthday and remembrance on other holidays. He was so loved and he is now in a better place -- pain free. We will get long from day to day, 'til its over -- Somehow . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008