Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jul. 20, 2004 - 14:45 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

As We Can Get

Late last night, but not too late to eat pizza, our daughter and her family arrived from Eugene, Oregon where they live. It was a very tiring, though safe, drive from Portland where their daughter was in a soccer game up there.

Hugs, happiness and harassment worked for a time, but finally daughter's husband who had done the driving sacked out, the rest of us milled around a bit and finally went off to sleep.

Heh, I was up at five this morning and kept a low profile as I knew the kids were all on Pacific Daylight time and would probably sleep in a bit late evenso.

This morning, remarkably, daughter and her husband woke up early and tip-toed out to go to a Starbucks. They didn't know I was up or I would have gone with them if invited.

Breakfast took place along with reading the news and then Heather and the family were off shopping.

Heather returned about one o'clock and the kids went on to meet son-in-law's folks to go to IMAX to see Lewis and Clark. Heather had already seen it so she elected to come home.

The plans for late afternoon and evening are on hold here. We, nor does daughter know yet whether they will spend the night with his folks or come back here. Whatever, I hope they have fun and go where the notion lists.

Grandson has become a fourteen year old giant, his sister still small for her age but she has the strength and wrath of a mighty giant and has a marvelous capacity to encompass everyone with her love.

Daughter and her man, how can I talk about them without exaggerating. How proud Heather and I are of them for the life they have built between the two of them.

Daughter was the one who flew to Denver to spend time with her brother Rob in his last few days. Her love for her brother knows no bounds. He had a great deal to do with her early days, a baby sitter par excellence.

My golly, she is 41 years old now. You know the little mite I held whose bum was in my palm and head about to my elbow is now the mother of two, an adult in the best sense. I look at her and all the years of her life flicker through the back of my mind, and I say to myself, "Yep, that's the way I figured she would grow up." And I am happy.

There is something when one of the kids moves away from the home town that makes us feel part of us is missing. But now that she and hers are here as a family we are as complete As We Can Get . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008