Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Feb. 01, 2005 - 18:50 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Inevitable

First of the month comes on schedule, regardless of the personal schedule I might have. So it is write checks, put in envelopes, put stamps & return address stickers, go mail them, go to our credit union to get budget cash, errands to run, guess most everyone has similar activities to take care of on the first of the month.

For Heather and I though things weren't all that good, really. This morning Heather's knee which has been giving her trouble for some time decided to mutiny. Sooner or later she will have to have an artificial knee joint put in. If it isn't better by morning perhaps she will go in to doctor to see if a cortisone shot will help.

Some of our running I could do, but when it came to the grocery store Heather decided this dumb guy couldn't follow her list. And she is right, right, right. Whenever I try to shop by her list there are too many things that just don't fit the list and allowences must be made. So, she must be on the grounds.

At the entrance to the supermarket if found a wheelchair with the basket in the front, brought it to the car and persuaded Heather to swallow her "for appearances sake" pride and let me chauffer her through the store. Remarkable how much those baskets will hold. We managed to get necessities and a bit more into the basket, checked out and were off.

Then we hied ourselves to The Lone Star restaurant to have a coupon lunch. We enjoy that, about all we can handle quantity wise for a meal and the price quite reasonable. Sure beats some of the other places around, and we are treated like human beings which adds to the flavor of the food.

Back home and Heather settled into her chair with cushions and covers, watching her TV and I in my room trying to make an entry and puzzling over the problems I seem to cause with my Dell.

Jeannie and her husband talked me through it and an entry (although not much of one is being made). Still trying to figure what I did.

Seems so self centered what I am writing, but haven't had much time to catch up with the world which is spinning faster than I can run.

It comes hard to a guy to face the fact that getting older entails various and sundry problems with his body, and likewise with women it seems to be the same. So, on with the uniform, cinch the belt, learn, practise and face the Inevitable . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008