Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 21, 2005 - 22:04 MDT

JURY RIGGED JIHAD ?

Shades of �Tailhook� and other peccadillos and scandalous military misdeeds now. And over Air Force Academy past doings and wrongs.

An article By M. E. Sprengelmeyer of the Rocky Mountain News in this mornings paper. In part :

A holy war in D.C.

GOP lawmaker calls Dems anti-Christian during AFA debate.

WASHINGTON � �An Indiana congressman accused Democrats of waging a �war on Christianity� on Monday, as a debate over religious tolerance at the U. S. Air Force Academy erupted in shouts and finger pointing.�

�Work in the House of Representatives ground to a halt for 30 tense minutes after Rep. John Hostettler, R-Ind., blasted Democrats for trying to amend a $409 billion defense spending bill with language condemning �coercive and abusive� proselytizing at the academy�s Colorado Springs campus.�

�Academy officials have acknowledged dozens of complaints about incidents of religious intolerance in recent years, prompting investigations by the military and outside groups. Some results are to be released by the Pentagon this week.�

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

There is much more to the article, and dirty laundry seems to be piled on both sides a bit. Quote from the article, �When you�ve got (Democratic National Committee Chairman) Howard Dean calling the Republican Party a �white-Christian� party, they have in a sense attacked Christians,� said Rep. Joel Hefley, R-Colorado Springs.

And further on, �By a voice vote, members approved a compromise version by Rep. Duncan Hunter, R-Calif., which strikes any condemnation of the Academy but requires reports on the religious climate to be submitted to lawmakers.�

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So, it appears that religious principles, tenets, and bigotry are going to be a part of the action for possibly all time to come. Faith Based horse hockey it seems to me.

I remember being pushed by cousins to learn bible verses before going to Sunday School with them and being derided because I refused the pressure. After a time Mom and Dad made sure I didn�t have to go to Sunday school with my cousins.

They grew up and turned out well and have all lived a good life. It was just their Mom�s way to try to force everyone to her beliefs that was filtering through her kids. All my life I have resisted the pressure in one form or another to be like someone else, think like they do and act like they do. On my own I may come around to their way of thinking � but damn the people who try to force things into my head.

My thoughts on the religious pressure at the Academy and my distaste for the folks who try to foster that repugnant practice.

So what is next ? By whose side ? perhaps a JURY RIGGED JIHAD ? . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008