Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-10-26 - 23:25 MDT

October 26, 2000

Miniscule

Grumpy here had a bad day, hitches in the direction he headed, forgotten things including a document or two, cancelled out the main effort. Activity along those lines will be resumed tomorrow.

Opinions are on Grumpy's menu tonight. Criminy, sounds like some government B.S., I am going to scrounge up some bucks and run for office next time. Just a routine procedure at my credit union, a trivial thing but I messed our day up.

So we then stopped at a place to eat we hadn't been before, ambience was great, service professional, food tasted good -- yukkers -- been busy all night taking turns using the porcelain throne. Of course we won't go there again, but suffering the consequences has made me grumpier than a dog bit bear.

The only thing of real interest to me today is a posting in Al Schroeder's Nova Notes -- which if true should be blasted to the skies for all to hear. Guess if "Dubya" wants to clear the air he will publish or allow to be published his full, true military record - - - or do politicians ever do such an unheard of thing ?

Political campaigns for office are, to me, a rolling over of rocks to see what is underneath, and then one side deying and smoke screening and the other side exaggerating the squirming discovery. What do we have when someone is elected -- the biggest liar, the one backed by the most money, and often the one with the most to hide?

Won't be long before it is over for another four years.

Things that worry me are the amendments, referendums, etc. that are put forth in such words in such a way that only the writers know what they actually mean and who have smoke screened the disadvantages of such an action.

I also forsee that the big interests are going to try to push through and make Colorado a "Right To Work, state. Every year the things that have been enacted before are again under attack by the moneyed special interests.

"Gradually, it looks to me, that our freedoms are being pecked away at by groups using high flown phrases to advocate some of the very things now taking place in our country that not too long ago were highly illegal. But the attempted excuses are, "But we couldn't apprehend these criminals else." Yeah right - - - - doesn't look as if their system is working very well. How many more DEA and ATF people will be hired and how many new prisons built before someone sees the impractical gobbling of our tax money and gets real ?

I don't think that I will ever be comfortable with, "No Knock Raids," at least such operations on residences, (a man's home is his castle ?) seem to me to be an assault on freedom -- irregardless of who is apprehended. I have read there are efforts to ease out the "Miranda" warning to possible crimials. Hell you and I are possible criminals in the eyes of the law -- if some dyspeptic cop who had a fight with his wife and then went on duty decides you are a criminal, you will have a hell of a time proving otherwise, and possibly pressured to make an untrue but incriminating statement. Then the confiscation of homes, vehicles etc., etc., etc., can follow and failure to return them to the proper owner when said owner is proven innocent has my nanny tied in the front room, especially as it seems to take much time and many dollars to recover rightfully owned property.

Some of these wild eyed ravers are trying to make it possible that every communication would be subject to eavesdropping by "Big Brother." What will be the next step then, punishment by a prison term for saying shit ?

Guess I am too grumpy to be diplomatic tonight in expressing my opinions and for all the good they will do, in essence they are miniscule . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008