Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Apr. 24, 2007 - 14:39 MDT

MOONLIGHTING

A short period of my life, when I was short enough to lay across the car on the shelf behind my folks my Dad and Mom occasionally would set out on a "Moonlight" ride.

Now Dad may have had an itinerary in mind, but for me it was high adventure and much like the joke about Columbus, "He set out for somewhere, got there, didn't know where he was, and went home." It was a time of story book voyaging for me.

The car windows would be open, the weather warm, and always we would soon be in the country amid the smell of growing things.

The moon would look in at me from first one window and then another, seeming to sail a course 'mid the clouds on its own. Sometimes seen as if far ahead through the windshield, other times winking over my shoulder from the back. But 'twas always up there, somewhere.

A time of happy, secure childhood for me, laying up back and dreaming stories of impossible deeds by improbable characters, with me turning the pages of that blessed childhood mind book.

If I sit and close my eyes and get quiet for a bit, it is possible to relive in memory those wonderful times of MOONLIGHTING . . . . . . . . . . . .

2 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008