Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-05-07 - 21:01 M DST

THE WONDERING JEW

Priorities

Such a little thing -- a short verse in today's paper.

"On Judgement Day,

If God should say,

""Did you clean your house today ?""

I will say,

I did not,

I played with the children and I forgot."

By Sue Wall

Made me humbly stop and think and wonder just how many times I did not have my priorities listed in my head in the order of their importance. How many times did I tell my kids, "I don't have time for that now ?" How many opportunities did I pass by of giving a hug, a cuddle or dry the tears of one of my own ? How many thousands of times have I failed to give Heather a pat and a loving word on my way by ? How many are the times when I didn't thank her for a loving act done by her, something not her wifely duty but done out of love and concern ? How many times have I passed some friend by with a serious, grim look on my face when maybe a, "Hi," and a smile would have made their day a bit more cheerful ? Have I again failed to remember that what I give is returned to me in kind ? Guess so.

How many times have I ignored by body's needs such as rest, nutrition, thirst and the need for a potty break ?

Can't I automatically remember that a smile garners a smile and a frown is also returned ?

Too busy building up the need for a doctor's appointment to take adequate care of my health. Too negligent to help a young child learn to thrive in love given and security of family and possibly later in life do the same for their loved ones. Too muddle headed to make life a bit more pleasant for co-workers. Too busy and selfish to lend a hand unless ordered to. Too busy to attend to spiritual matters. And sometimes too concentrated on what I think is too urgent, to take care of myself so that I can continue to be around those I love and those I like.

Of course I am a repeat offender in all of those. It is a bit late now, maybe though, not too late.

Years ago maybe I should have made a great effort to make a correct list, in their proper order of my Priorities . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008