Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jan. 14, 2002 - 20:29 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Bon Voyage

Our Eugene family is gone, dropped at the airport this morning amid unshed tears, loving embraces and hasty hugs. One good thing about the run to the airport was the fantabulous sunrise widespread across the eastern horizon. From the white hot area of the sky lit most by the sun to the gentlest of the muted lavenders to the far sides and brilliant colors in between it was a majestic display, the Quirky DIA Tent Tops also glamorously lit by the rising sun. It was like the stage lights coming up on a scene of life as it is.

On the way home the mountain range from Pike's Peak on the south to Long's Peak on the north the snowy peaks with the green ruffled petticoats were lit by the sun as if at the precise hand of a masterful stage director. Well, actually He is the most masterful. I felt lucky to witness such a beautiful display.

Back home, their stuff waiting for their return in May was rearranged a bit and we went to breakfast at Denny's, then back home, digesting our breakfast and surveying the echoing emptiness that but a bit ago was full of vibrant, young life.

Then to bed for a nice long nap flavored with sweet dreams. Thanks, we needed that. Heather and I did get fatigued as I supposed did the kids, six people in a two bedroom apartment is a squirming obstacle course. Our tiredness is physical, not mental, what a treasure their visit has been.

Tonight while supper has been settling I started going through the mental pages of my life, remembering my joys, frustrations and sadnesses of my early life, then walking the fine line of teenhood and finally adulthood. As the pages of memory turned, other lives blended in with mine, a mate - Heather, the person who fought with me side by side the battle of survival for our kids and selves. Then the five little handfuls of life who came to us, one by one. Each time I would accompany them in their quest of living. I seemed to look at the world through very young, enchanted eyes. Remembering the joyful, "Daddee," accompanied by a leap into my arms by a thriving squirming ball of joyful life. I again was a sympathizer in their early efforts to walk, ride a trike, climb a tree, finally mastering bicycles and roller skates, vicariously experiencing through them my early efforts to achieve coordination and consequent pride of accomplishment.

I relived my teens through them - actually enjoying them much more the second time around as their happiness rubbed off on me. Then thinking back and fondly remembering their marriages and ensuing progeny. The golden circle of life, rolling on -- our progeny's progeny and theirs in turn. In the middle of our good family is life, lovely life.

To those of us, now moving faster than we, Bon Voyage . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008