Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Feb. 14, 2002 - 19:46 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Angle Of Attack

Note: Hope by now that David is at home asleep in his bed. Will hear when son and his wife get back to Denver.

Why is it I always stick myself in the bum twirling my viewpoints ? You tell me.

Valentine's Day, what should it be ? To me it is one day a year that a person can celebrate by showing that a special loved one is prized above all (adult that is). It can be shown in many ways by different methods. Big bunches of super expensive roses in fancy vases probably $100.00 or more per shot. But you know, to me, It Don't Mean A Thing If It Ain't Got That Swing ! ! ! If that is not what is needed to push the swing, then what ?

Nowadays most every celebration is tied by the merchants to the amount of money they can entice out of people, not just Valentine's Day, but all holidays it seems.

Not too long ago I made an entry about the care and the love Heather showed to me by sacrificing over a year of her life taking over our affairs while nursing me back to strength after our auto accident, without expectations of a reward. It wasn't a demonstration but a pure act of love, so much better than a fancy Christmas, birthday, Valentine's Day or Father's Day present that was. Pure love, without asking for thanks or expecting anything big.

Things we all do for each other out of love, without the blaring of horns and the Ta Da's, aren't they better symbols of love than geegaws ? They are for me.

Tevye from Fiddler On The Roof now sings, "But On The Other Hand," and I look at things from another viewpoint then he also sings of, "Tradition." Traditional roses for Valentine's Day ? Why shouldn't I buy and give something to my loved ones that I know they like ? Even roses, no rules govern that other than what has been twisted by Mammon. If that is the only way a man can show love for his mate at least once a year, then it is better he do the very best he can.

I think that it has always been the woman of the family who knows what each member of the clan needs and desires the most. We men, macho that we are, go out in a hurry and buy the traditional stuff, the fanciest we can afford, bring it in, set it on the table, say, "There," and brush off our hands and expect wide eyed, "Ooooohs," from the ladies. The women however spend hours and months shopping for a special thing which is needed and wanted by a loved one. So, which means the most, really ? I don't mean that all men and all women are as stereotyped as that, but in the general run of things that is the way it seems to be.

Some people in the present treat marriage like a dance where there is a hand to hand procedure or a change partner action. Children, the after thoughts, aren't thought after enough. They are also the product of modern times. How many men will be in their Mom's life before a child gives up on having a loving Daddy ? How many Mom's have to love and raise their children on their own because the Daddy skipped town ?

Love ? Where is the love in that kind of life ? Mom is working her bum off to support her kids and doesn't normally have time to show much love to her kids.

I think love should be openly demonstrated all the time, especially to children, hugs, pats and kisses, handshakes, pats on the back, atta boys, thatsa girls, there are so many ways to show love and I think it needs to happen more than once a year.

For us in the adult world I think both man and woman should each day show their love to their mate in one recognizable way or another. What book did the words, "Love one another," come from that my Mother taught me ?

Is this a rant ? Probably. It seems to come so hard to so many people to show constant love to each other. We seem to fall into the pit of taking each other for granted. Of expecting the service from each other as if we are paying them money for doing a job.

Sometimes a person resigns from a job because they are not recognized as a loved one. It works both ways.

Do I think I am any better than anyone else ? Hell no ! ! ! I am as guilty as the next bird on the branch of not being attentive enough but am lucky enough to realize it and try to do something about it. This sheep has left the herd of goats I guess you would say. To try to return what has been given me. That is my viewpoint.

So. maybe the mindset and viewpoint governs the Angle Of Attack. . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008