Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Feb. 24, 2002 - 19:26 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Turnabout

Comes to my mind some of the words of an old, old spiritual, "There's a wheel in a wheel," which applied to us as humans could make me the wheel in a wheel of my father and mother, spinning under their aegis. Heather and my children could be the wheels in the wheel of us. For a while.

Then the young ones mature enough to roll off on their own but usually move in the same general direction. Still that wheel in the wheel is carried in them to jump start the new lives of their progeny.

The endless cycle of life seems to move on, yet remains much the same from generation to generation. As parents we hope that our progeny find a better way to survive productively and happily. In essence though their lives are pretty much repetitions of ours.

As an infant and later a child I needed to live in intimate contact with my parents. I needed them, I needed to live with them, I needed to learn from them. I needed training to be able to do for myself and mine later on.

Many years later our fathers needed us, Heather and I, needed our protection and help, the wheel was still spinning. Now as Heather and I grow older and weaker we will eventually need the help from our kids that our Dads needed from us. We are trying to make that need arise later than sooner, but also realize that a broken hip that won't heal or some ailment or another could put us in that position.

There is a thought in here somewhere or I am surely around the bend. I guess that I am pondering on the wheels I might say. As a passenger in my Mom's tummy I was tiny wheel there. Then I was born and began to take my place in a larger wheel of family. Later for a short while I rolled alone until Heather and I started to construct our own wheel. Which we did and started the wheels spinning in our progeny and they are are doing pretty much the same. But we are all related to the rest of the wheels of the same blood lines. Different but the same. Together in closeness and thought for the most part.

I think the need is mutual for families, we need each other yet allowing for decent differences in thought and habits.

The wheel keeps turning and I have rotated past the point the my Dad achieved. I am not thinking nursing care. I need encouragement, love, company and two way communication by and with my family. To my way of thinking it is not normal for different parts of a wheel to come apart and each segment go its own way, which would be down to the ground I would think - or worse. We need each other for coherence.

Love, the power that makes the wheels turn ? I think so, and some kind of worship of a thing so much more vast than a human can be.

The odometer of life records the turns of the wheel, but does not register the amount of time left.

Some time in the future I hope to see where I came from and so, I shall Turnabout . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008