Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Apr. 08, 2002 - 22:56 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

The Right Won

Maybe it was for the best . . . . perhaps. I had an hour and a half entry on this one thing written up and was trying to get it into my Diaryland diary. Kept coming up, "Too busy to use," until my entry was just dumped.

Today the Colorado Supreme Court, all six of the Justices, reversed a Court decision that required Denver's Tattered Cover Book Store to turn over information about books purchased by one of its customers.

They ruled that the search warrant issued to the Tattered Cover, violated both the First Amendment and the Colorado Constitution's guarantee of free expression. "Had it not been for the Tattered Cover's steadfast stance, the zealousness of the City would have led to the disclosure of information that we ultimately conclude is constitutionally protected," the Court declared.

From what I have read of the FEN Newswire article I believe that this decision in Colorado will help keep the powers that be on a tighter rein before they invade the privacy of the individual anywhere in the United States. I am not a lawyer but it seems that this could be cited as a precedence in any court action, anywhere.

To say the least I am overjoyed. I worked gift wrap one Christmas season at the store, have spent many hours in one easy chair or another reading with out some dipwad interrupting my train of thought with a, "Can I help you sir ?" My stifled reply would have been, "No dammit, thank you, I am helping myself." Many new, good things you see going on in bookstores in this country now are things that The Tattered Cover introduced into bookstores. Joyce Meskis faith in her buying public and her insistance that her help be the silent souls of discretion, never commenting or asking questions about the customer's choice, just serving the customer with care, politely, has resulted in her Tattered Cover being a well known institution counrywide. Tattered cover has a website and the 1-800 telephone number 1-800-833-9327 and a FAX of 303-399-2279 and cheerfully field questions and search for books if asked.

So with that short exultation may I say The Right Won . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008