Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 28, 2002 - 19:27 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Quiet Mrs.

I became aquainted with her right after World War 2. A darkhaired vibrant lady, married to a great friend of mine. For quite a long time we were all raising kids and were quite busy. We met at gatherings and engaged in small talk much as visitors do. There was always good will between us.

She had come from the northwest and moved with her family to California where she met her husband to be who came from Denver and returned with her as his bride after his release from the service. She was so alive, yet subdued and kept things at a state of peace, all the time. Her conversations were never centered around her or her family. Raised her kids to have the same type of personality as she. She took care of the family business affairs, was a homemaker and a mother.

There came a point in time when all our parents were dead and we bonded pretty well, more so than ever before. We would have a coffee klatsch once a week with the conseqent chatter and exchange of memories. It was something we all looked toward, coming from he same generation as we did we had much in common to talk about.

It was during those visits that I began to know more about her and understand what a fine lady she was. Her acts of kindness gradually came to light. Her devoted attendance to her church, with no attempts of proselytism toward others.

She was an avid reader and her bookshelves had the complete (at that time) Tony Hillerman books which were set in the Four Corners Area. She also had one long shelf of historical stories from the beginning of our country to the present day.

She began to bring books over to give me when we had our weekly visit. Just where she came by them I don't know, she was into so many things its hard to make a guess. Only thing I am sure of however done, it was honest and aboveboard. Most of them were current pot boilers, popular current reading, no bodice ripper love stories. We read Clive Cussler, Johnathan Kellerman stories and things like that.

I have always have had a place to give books that became surplus to me. After she had brought me bunches of books I asked her if she wanted them returned. She replied, "I am sure you have a place to pass them on." I did and do. Some went to my oldest son to read and thence from him to people who liked also to read. Some I took to our oldest daughter's residence. From there they were passed on down the line to needful readers.

This kept up until she was suddenly hospitalized and never regained consciousness.

As time goes on things come to light about kindnesses she did for others. She was the soul of diplomacy and courtesy, helping where she could with what was available for her use with no publicity. She reminded me of my Mother-in-law who, although having blood family to care about would always make sure that I had a new lined denim jacket at the start of cold weather and gloves, now that was living high for me being used to making a winter wrap last for several years. The two women were quite similar, trying to see that folk had what was needed.

Such a remarkable lady she was. She used to talk to me, one on one about things that interested the both of us, much like a brother and sister might. Between the two of us there was never any chest beating, bragging or complaining, just quiet talk about common interests. I miss that and miss her.

There were no articles in headlines at her passing on, a quiet funeral and burial as I am sure she would have wanted. We see one or another of her progeny now and then but the diffenence in ages makes it difficult. One of them lives out of state, the other one lives clear across the metro area from us and is putting a daughter through college. Nothing strange about that as there was very little visiting between us before, our kids and theirs pursued lives where their paths diverged, occasionally we would visit with them when they were at their folk's house.

She was a woman that as near as I know made no claims of her doings, asked for no special attention or help, just going about her life secure in her home, kids and husband.

I think people like her should be remembered with love, their life should not be forgotten as I think great adults come from mothers like her.

She was about the same age as I am and had the standard arthritic equipment which most of us that age have. It was only noticed by her use of a cane and the effort it took for her to rise from a chair. Never spoken about by her though.

How can one ever sing the praises of such a private person ? The good things we know she did I would guess were by far outnumbered by good things she did that we will never know about. She was a good wife, mother and friend and a very Quiet Mrs . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008