Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 19, 2006 - 21:23 MST

A GIFT OF LIFE

In an era of "What's in it for me ?" an item like the one appearing in yesterday's The Rocky Moutain News from The Associated Press gives an amazing insight on some of humanity. The article quoted in full follows:

PASTOR DONATING KIDNEY TO RABBI

MOUNT LAUREL, N.J. -- "A Reform rabbi and a Methodist pastor may celebrate different holidays this month, but they have something to rejoice together -- one is giving a kidney to the other."

"After almost a year of waiting to hear good news, Rabbi Andrew Bossov found out this week that doctors approved a surgery that will give him one of the Rev. Karen Onesti's kidneys."

"Bossov's daughter, Elisabeth, said Onesti's gesture is one of pure human kindness.

"I believe what's happening between my dad and Karen is the most prominent example of a healthy interfaith relationship that I and others in the community have ever seen," she said."

"Bossov, the spiritual leader of Adath Emanu-El, has interstitial-nephritis, kidney failure that has been progressing slowly. The disease appears to stem from a bad reaction he had to medication years ago."

"Bossov, 47, had 25 percent normal kidney function for nine years, but last year that decreased to 10 percent. He began dialysis in July."

"The two met four years ago through an interfaith council. When Bossov mentioned at a meeting last February that his decreased function allowed him to get on the transplant list, the pastor jumped at the chance to help him."

"I feel about Andy the way I feel about my own brother," Onesti, 49, said."

"Onesti, of the Masonville-Rancocas United Methodist Church, underwent tests for compatibility with her family's support. The transplant team at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania approved the donation."

"Next month, the two will meet with a surgical team to schedule the operation."

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

How can one talk about such a thing as this ?

I know how hard it would be for me to give up an organ to another. Knowing fully that I would do so for one of my dear relatives. But the action of Karen Onesti goes far above and beyond what most of us would be willing to do, at least in my way of thinking it does.

And that her family supports her in this action gives us all a lesson, I think.

The "Good Samaritan" in spades one might say of her.

I guess it is easy for most of us, when renewing our drivers license to give permission for our body parts to be given to others in need, if we ourselves did not survive an accident. But this lady plans to live the rest of her life, "without a spare."

Even though her chances of coming down with something that threatens her remaining kidney are few, the possiblity is there.

I takes, I think, guts and dedication to give another that kind of A GIFT OF LIFE . . . . . . . . . .

6 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008