Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 05, 2007 - 20:14 MDT

LITTLE BY LITTLE

Some of my early memories are of Mom licking and sticking stamp like things in a book. As time went on I observed that she had several books of those things, and when Grandma came to visit once, she brought more books of those stampy things.

I finally asked the double barreled question, "What are those and what are they for ?"

Then began my education on S&H Green Stamps. I found that with a huge number of books of them one could get almost anything a person could want.

I think Mom traded in those books for warm blankets for winter. And it was a very long time before she had enough Green stamps to get something else.

Thereafter whenever I went to the store I'd ask for those green stamps, I'd give them to Mom knowing that she would choose the very best thing for our little family.

I didn't have a lot of money to spend, so the quantity of stamps was small, but gave me an early lesson on two fronts, saving and giving.

Not too many people today know what S&H Green Stamps were, sorta dates me, huh ?

But I remember when things were gained by saving Green stamps, LITTLE BY LITTLE . . . . . . . . . .

32 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008