Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jul. 27, 2007 - 21:33 MDT

I LOVE A PARADE

High school, ROTC. I guess it was either pre-Memorial Day or Armistice day, perhaps both. But I know I marched in the parade several times.

Full uniform, rifle over shoulder, striving to keep in step with the rest of the group.

Brass buffed to mirror bright shine, leather shined also. Of course a haircut as well.

There was the impelling rhythm of the drums, the calling to arms of the brass. Made my heart beat faster and my senses swim, it did.

I was never in sports, ROTC was as close as I ever got to being on a team of anykind, but it did firmly instill in me the idea of teamwork.

I have never been one to witness a parade, I guess due to my bad back and having to stand at the curb so long. But bad back be damned, I did march, and to be in one ?

I LOVE A PARADE

4 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008