Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 19, 2007 - 20:25 MDT

MEMORIES AND REGRETS

I was a curious child, but often my questions would produce a, "Don't go there attitude from the grown folks." It wasn't mean or angry, but I would gently be diverted to other things.

What little I did learn over the course of my life explains in a small way why I couldn't learn more about my forebears. But there are empty spots where grandparents should be and great and great-great grandparents. Much family history is a total blank on both sides of the family.

I do know this that it was Mom, Dad, Mom's Mom and some cousins in my sphere as I grew up. Grandma was a widow but married a man who was an ideal grandpa for me.

Occasionally Dad would get a letter from back East but I wouldn't be told what it contained and my questions met with deaf ears.

But, such is life for many of us, especially those of us who come from people who moved west. I guess my family really begins with Heather and I and her huge family, who took me in as one of them when we married. With our five kids, seven or more grandkids according as to how counted and their kids, we do have quite a family. Paradise indeed for Heather and I, it gives her what she grew up with pretty much and gives me a big family I never had which is treasure de luxe.

Somewhere in our archived photo prints is a four generation picture of our menfolk, my Dad, my son, his son and me. Couldn't find it tonight, but did find the latest, one of me, my son, his son and his son.

How I wish that I had been able to get my folks and my grandma to tell me about the family I came from. So, there are MEMORIES AND REGRETS . . . . . . . . .

7 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008